Chamber of Shipping honours 109 Crowley vessels for environmental achievement

Chamber of Shipping honours 109 Crowley vessels for environmental achievement

The Chamber of Shipping of America (CSA) has awarded 109 vessels owned and/or operated by Crowley Maritime Corp. with Certificates of Environmental Achievement in recognition of their strong safety records and environmental protection.

The 109 vessels include container ships, tankers, articulated tug-barges (ATBs), tugboats and more, representing a combined 1,171 years without an environmental incident. Forty-nine of these Crowley-owned and/or -operated vessels have gone at least 10 years without an incident.

“The safety of the environment is crucial to our operations in every place where we work. These awards are testaments to the dedication and hard work of the men and women who make up our crews,” said Capt. Boren Chambers, Director, Marine Operations, Crowley SHIPPING, who represented the company at the November 7 awards ceremony in Washington, D.C. “Safety is our No. 1 core value, and we appreciate the recognition earned by crew members’ commitment to environmental stewardship.”

The awards are open to all owners and operators of vessels that operate on oceans or inland waterways. The association’s awards honour companies for operating vessels without any environmental incidents, displaying a commitment to respecting and protecting the environment on oceans and inland waterways.

“These awards celebrate the dedication to environmental excellence of our seafarers and the company personnel shore-side who operate our vessels to the highest standards,” said Kathy Metcalf, President of CSA, at the ceremony. “It is encouraging to see how many vessels go for years achieving environmental excellence. It should be clear to the American public that we in the maritime industry take our stewardship of the marine environment very seriously. Safe and environmentally responsible operations is a culture fully embraced by the maritime industry as a whole and as evidenced by the performances of the award recipients recognised tonight.”

For more information visit and

3rd December 2018